In order for any work of art — for example, a film, a novel, a poem, or a song — to have merit, it must be understandable to most people.

Art is the most creative form of work. People in the field of art, not only concentrate their focus on hard work, rather they implement a different approach to smart work which makes themselves attention seeker. Art incorporates various possibilities in human beings. It is a unique form of work that requires to use minds of people in various ways to ensure creativity. Thus, I mostly disagree with the given prompt that "For any work of art — for example, a film, a novel, a poem, or a song — to have merit, it must be understandable to most people", this can be explained by the following reasons.

Art is not just a simple form of field, rather it is convoluted with ideas and innovation. To take part in any field of art, one must require enough knowledge to understand that particular field. For example, a student of a music academy would not understand the concept of fine brush strokes used by the student of drawing in his painting. However, it would be easier for a drawing teacher to evaluate and hence would be capable of identifying the mistakes the student has made in his painting.

Many film industries are concentrated on creating mindful movies in the present time. Previously, the film industry used to be superfluous and the writers of the movies use to give extra information than is required in the movie. The writers, day-by-day making a lot of improvements in the scripts by including less information. This helps to seek the attention of the viewers and let them think about the possibilities that the writer is conveying in the story. Similarly, while writing an essay about any topic, the author tries to cage his audience's attention by writing effectively rather than worrying about the quantity of the content. Hence, to make the work of art to be successful and laudable it doesn't need to be understood by most of the crowd.

However, it would be difficult for an illiterate person to understand the work of people in art as they lack knowledge, hence, it cannot be completely denied. People who didn't acquire education would find it difficult to understand the work of people in various fields of art. For instance, an illiterate person who is not able to read anything won't be able to read anything like novels, books, newspapers, and poems. Eventually, he won't understand anything and thus for such people, the work of art seems disadvantageous.

For the above-mentioned reasons, it can be concluded that the work of art is a creative field and to achieve advantage, it is not compulsorily required that it must be understood by most of the people. To make any art successful one needs to be creative in his work, instead of following the approach of hard work.