The following appeared as a recommendation by a committee planning a ten-year budget for the city of Calatrava.

"The birthrate in our city is declining: in fact, last year's birthrate was only one-half that of five years ago. Thus the number of students enrolled in our public schools will soon decrease dramatically, and we can safely reduce the funds budgeted for education during the next decade. At the same time, we can reduce funding for athletic playing fields and other recreational facilities. As a result, we will have sufficient money to fund city facilities and programs used primarily by adults, since we can expect the adult population of the city to increase."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The given recommendation by the committee suggests reducing the funds for education for the next decade while reasoning that the birth rate of Calatrava city is falling gradually. Moreover, the committee is planning to reduce the funding for the athletic playing fields and several different recreational activities and indulge in raising funds for other city facilities and programs that will be used by adults, assuming the population of the adults will increase. However, while the conclusion is drawn by the committee, it rests on several unfounded assumptions that, if not substantiated, dramatically attenuate the persuasiveness of the argument. Therefore, the following points need to be addressed.

Initially, the committee is comparing the statistics of the current year with the statistics five years ago. Five years is a long period and is enough to have a myriad number of changes. It could be possible that the people who were originally living in Calatrava have migrated in a high number to a different country or state that contributes to a lower population of the city. Moreover, it could be possible that the education in Calatrava city is not competent enough to attract the students to take admissions in schools of Calatrava and hence the students might be relocating to different education hubs for their studies. This might a contributing factor for a constant reduction of students enrolled in the public schools, due to which the committee has decided to lower the funds.

Secondly, the committee has failed to provide enough evidence to bolster their assumption of a fewer number of students enrolled in public schools. The assumption is baseless. It might be possible that the students are not opting to admit themselves to the public schools of Calatrava because of the reason that the facilities provided in the public schools are not up to the mark. Hence, most of the students are preferring private schooling over public schooling. If the committee would have thought of the aforementioned factor then it would be valid enough for the readers to believe.

As per the committee, the further plan is to reduce funds for several athletic playing fields and compensate for other recreational activities, assuming that the birthrate has decreased and there would only be an increase in the adult population. However, the committee has forgotten that there are still existing students and younger people who went to several playing fields to play several sports to stay fit. If the committee plans to reduce the funds for playing fields then, there won't be any place for the younger ones. Moreover, if the committee increases other recreational activities in the city, it would not be a fair solution for the younger people.

A careful analysis exposes the loopholes present in the recommendation. In addition, the recommendation does not seem to be strong enough to buttress the conclusion of reducing the budget for public schools and athletic playing fields because all the reasons provided by the committee are skeptical. Therefore, the committee of Calatrava city should rethink and provide a logical and foolproof solution.