In order for any work of art — for example, a film, a novel, a poem, or a song — to have merit, it must be understandable to most people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Popularity and comprehension by masses cannot be the yardsticks to ascertain the value of a work of art and this is most evidenced by the posthumous success of artists from motely fields. In the words of Oscar Wild, definition of art should follow the work, the work should not adapt itself to the definition. Creating boundaries and frameworks for art specially based on popular perception would rob art of its essential purpose i.e. to stimulate the senses, and art would merely be regarded as a carrier that people are propelled towards because of its mercenary gain.

Art is an abstract concept, one which has no conception of ideal. The value of a piece of art cannot be enclosed in he walls of popular belief or perception. Artists from Von Gogh to Picasso, literary masters like Franz Kafka and Jane Austen, music maestros like Bach and Ray Charles had extremely varied styles and were only celebrated for this genius posthumously. Critics and laity alike failed to recognize the merit of their work during their lifetime. However that did not stop these prodigies to alter their work based on temporal considerations of popular perceptions of their time. Art to truly have merit must be timeless and eternal and be full of buoyancy connecting with and motivating people.

Art is as much boundary less as eternal. Artistic master pieces connect with people across the barriers of language, culture, expertise and even physical handicaps. Music of wizards like Mozart and Bach is often used in therapies of alternate healing for mentally handicapped people. These people might not be able to understand the technicalities that make this music brilliant, but the combined effect of tempo, rhythm, sound is what connects with them and has an ameliorative effect overall. Fusion of different types of music is testimony that language barriers do not immure true art either. Sufi music is extremely popular across the world and is enjoyed equally by people from myriad ethnicities who in all likelihood cannot understand or even relate to the lyrics.

While art for art’s sake is viewed as liberal and having a modernism outlook, a new view of the relevance of art is that it is the instrument to effect social change. The outlook necessitates that art be understood by majority. The work of art will only be as powerful as the number of people it can inspire and motivate, obscure and incomprehensible art would be little more than megalomaniacal indulgence by the artists. With art having the capability to transcend boundaries, cultures and religions it can be a powerful tool to actuate people towards humanitarian ends, bringing people together in an enriching exchange of ideas and thoughts. This will only be possible when art is accessible--physically and cognitively to masses.

In conclusion, the definition of what makes piece of work truly art changes over time and neither expert or popular believes can be the litmus test to adjudicate the merit. Art for its own sake serves to stimulate senses of the people and creative urges of the artist and does not necessitate popular acceptance, but art as a catalyst for change requires that it must be comprehensible by the populace.