The council of Maple County, concerned about the county's becoming overdeveloped, is debating a proposed measure that would prevent the development of existing farmland in the county. But the council is also concerned that such a restriction, by limiting the supply of new housing, could lead to significant increases in the price of housing in the county. Proponents of the measure note that Chestnut County established a similar measure ten years ago, and its housing prices have increased only modestly since. However, opponents of the measure note that Pine County adopted restrictions on the development of new residential housing fifteen years ago, and its housing prices have since more than doubled. The council currently predicts that the proposed measure, if passed, will result in a significant increase in housing prices in Maple County.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

While the prediction made by the council about the proposed measures; limiting the supply of housing in the Maple County might hold some merit, the line of reasoning of such forecast requires close examination and certain important questions need to be answered in order for these proposed measures to be implemented.

The author states that the council of Maple County is concerned about the county’s overdevelopment and hence a debate has ensued which proposes a measure which would prevent the development of exiting farmlands of the county. The questions here that need to be answered are, what qualifies as overdevelopment for the council? For example is there a significant amount of infrastructural development in the county that is shrinking the size of available farmlands. If the answer to this question is yes then the argument put forth in the council might hold a plausible connotation. The author further says that the council is concerned about prices rising if the housing is limited in the county. The question that needs to be addressed here is raise in the price of housing is directly proportional to limiting the supply of new housing. Other aspects of the economy will not contribute to such calculations. Moreover, the source of this data is no where mentioned by the author.

Moving forward, it is stated that proponents of these measure put forth Chestnut County as an example. They say that Chestnut County had established a similar measure ten years ago, and that its housing prices have increased only modestly since. The most significant question that needs to be answered, if not would weaken the argument, is that, the conditions under which Chestnut County implemented such measure? Is it same as that of Maple County. Further has nothing changed over the intervening years?. Here lies an underlying assumption that Maple County will also see the same results if this measure is implemented. Further the term “modestly increased”seem vague and actual numbers should be provided so as to easily understand them. For instance that earlier the prices ranged between $100,000 to $500,000 , now see an increment of $200,000 each year.

Lastly, the opponents of the propsed measure bring to the table the example of Pine County. They state that Pine County adopted restrictions on the development of new residential housing fifteen years ago, and its housing prices have since more than doubled. The term “more than double” shows vagary and does not provide us with actual number to do the calculations. Again the main question is were all the three counties facing the same issues when they decided to implement such measures?, Has nothing changed in the years between each county pondering to implement the proposed measure? Where did the proponents and the opponents of this scheme gathered the data from?, was it available at each counties councils? Such as the data for each county was available at the county’s library. The raise in housing prices is same for all counties irrespective of other economic aspects as they all belong to the same state. Once these questions are answered , the argument stands a chance and the council of Maple county can consider implementing this measure.

Due to the lack of plausible evidence such as, were all counties dealing with same overdevelopment crisis? Was there no change in the housing industry over the last fifteen years and whether the source of all the data provided was legitimate. Thus this argument is not completely persuasive as some more research needs to be done before the Maple County can consider implementing such a measure.