In order to become well-rounded individuals, all college students should be required to take courses in which they read poetry, novels, mythology, and other types of imaginative literature.

Language, is the tool with which we can think. The more our language is sophisticated, the more we can think in a sophisticated manner. Since in imaginative literature, the author uses a refined language, the thinking language of students improves by being influenced by poetry, novels, mythology and so on. However, we cannot expect the individual to become a well-rounded person merely by being inside the academia and passing courses related to imaginative literature.

Of course imaginative literature helps the students to make a well-round character. Poetry is full of delicacy. With few words poet conveys the deep meaning of something that in the form of prose it might take hundreds of pages to be conveyed. This makes the students who are learning poetry to get distance from redundancy and learn to think and express their thoughts in the shortest and most influential manner. Those who study novels, experience the life of many characters vicariously and in sum, readers can have better understanding of human and his pains, rages, and happiness.

However, two points are missed by the author of the statement. First, taking a course does not guarantee that the pertaining material would be instilled in the students. The students are obliged to take those courses. So their prime concern would be to pass the exam, not enjoy the deep learning. Furthermore, the students’ minds might be preoccupied with the obsessions, concerns, and pains that have no room for understanding imaginative literature. In the poor countries, students cannot concentrate well as they have financial issues. Many might have emotional issues from their childhood traumas and so on.

Finally, to dwell the sophisticated thoughts in the minds of students to become well-rounded there must be some provided grounds. Aside the educators, parents and student themselves have to play their roles. To bring up well-rounded students, first the family and parental nurturing is important. If they fail in proper nurturing, with the all preoccupations the children in turn fail to become a well-rounded individual. Moreover, the students themselves should be inclined to develop their characteristics, and not to be complacent. They might not take their lessons seriously. We see that even in families with a proper nurture, the playful student merely passes the courses.

In short, as discussed, the family of the student, and the student himself or herself should be ready to receive the points in the imaginative literature in order to use them in real life and to think in a sophisticated form. We cannot push students to the classes and wait for end of their courses to become well-rounded individuals. Provided that students are ready to absorb the precious points in the imaginative literature, I agree with the statement that such courses are necessary to make the students well-rounded.