“As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.”

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Today technology is an indispensable part of our lives. We use technology in every single thing we do. To a certain extent I disagree with the statement because by using technology, people can save time and work more efficiently.

Technology doesn’t deteriorate the ability of humans to think as technology is built by man himself. Using technology, people can save time doing their work. Today calculators have made our lives very easy because we can do long calculations within seconds. For example if a shopkeeper does the calculations by hand instead of using a calculator, it would take a lot of time and it would waste other people’s time who are standing in the queue. If the shopkeeper uses a calculator, calculations would be done faster and more accurately. The shopkeeper can use the saved time in thinking how he can earn more profit instead of wasting time doing calculations by hand. But if you are a mathematics professor you should definitely know how to do calculations by hand as you need to teach the students to do basic calculations.

Technology helps people with their work and make our lives much easier. If you are a Computer Engineer it takes a lot of time to write the code for an application. But if a part of the code is available on the internet, it would help the coder write the code and the application would be completed in less time. This would not deteriorate the ability of the computer engineer to think because he would have to know how to use the code in his application and edit the code according to his requirement. Of course if he blindly copies the code, the code would not run as expected. So if we use technology wisely, it would not deteriorate our thinking but it would help us in our work and make our work more efficient.

Nowadays students use technology for visual learning which helps them in learning the concepts easily. There is so much material available on the internet that the students can use for learning. This doesn’t mean that they cannot think for themselves. For example if in an assignment, a student is unable to understand a question, he can search it on the internet and with the internet’s help understand the answer. But if the student copies the entire assignment from the internet, it would definitely harm the student as he would not learn anything from the assignment.

Today there are so many technological tools available for our use. If we these tools sensibly it would help us to work more efficiently and we can complete our work in less time.