As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

People have different views about the impacts of technology on human’s intellectual capabilities. While some argue that new technologies which help people to solve their problems lead to a reduced ability of thinking, I believe that technology aid people to gain more time to think about hard problems, and provide them with a richer knowledge base which lead to a stronger intellectual performance.

The main reason is that technology saves time. In fact, using technology, people have more time to think about difficult problems. For example, commuting between different parts of a city has become quicker. Another example is that getting news has become easier. In addition, you can wash your dirty clothes in an hour, whereas, in the past, you should spend a lot time going near rivers and wash your clothes. Therefore, technology has given a lot of time to people to ponder important issues.

Another aspect to consider is that technology gives a lot of information to people. Internet has provided an spectacular opportunity for people to know whatever they desire. For instance, Science Direct provides up to date scientific articles in any issue such that if some one wants to know about a specific scientific topic, he/she can easily be aware of the most recent progresses in the world. On the basis of a broadened knowledge, people can think about a wide variety of problems, which they could not do in the past. Since knowledge is the foundation for thinking deeper and more extended, by technology providing more information for people, they can think about more important issues easily.

However, the statement argues that technology makes it difficult for people to think. They assume that brain is somehow similar to body. Should you do not exercise regularly, your muscles will get weaker. Likewise, if you do not exploit your intellectual ability, your brain abilities dwindle. In my opinion, the statement, however, does not consider the incipient problems of the modern world. Technology not only solved a lot of problems, but also created a lot of new riddles. Thus, the human brain abilities are still in use may be even more than the past.

In conclusion, although it is understandable that if the technology caused humans to think less often, then they would lose their thinking ability in the long run, as discussed above, I, personally, believe that technology by saving more time and providing a wider access to knowledge helps people to ruminate more important questions.