As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.
In all actuality, I think it is more probable that our bodies will surely deteriorate long
before our minds do in any significant amount. Who can’t say that technology has
made us lazier, but that’s the key word, lazy, not stupid. The ever increasing amount of
technology that we incorporate into our daily lives makes people think and learn every
day, possibly more than ever before. Our abilities to think, learn, philosophize, etc. may
even reach limits never dreamed of before by average people. Using technology to
solve problems will continue to help us realize our potential as a human race.
If you think about it, using technology to solve more complicating problems gives
humans a chance to expand their thinking and learning, opening up whole new
worlds for many people. Many of these people are glad for the chance to expand their
horizons by learning more, going to new places, and trying new things. If it wasn’t for
the invention of new technological devices, I wouldn’t be sitting at this computer
trying to philosophize about technology. It would be extremely hard for children in
much poorer countries to learn and think for themselves with out the invention of the
internet. Think what an impact the printing press, a technologically superior mackine
at the time, had on the ability of the human race to learn and think.
Right now we are seeing a golden age of technology, using it all the time during our
every day lives. When we get up there’s instant coffee and the microwave and all these
great things that help us get ready for our day. But we aren’t allowing our minds to
deteriorate by using them, we are only making things easier for ourselves and saving
time for other important things in our days. Going off to school or work in our cars
instead of a horse and buggy. Think of the brain power and genius that was used to come
up with that single invention that has changed the way we move across this globe.
Using technology to solve our continually more complicated problems as a human
race is definately a good thing. Our ability to think for ourselves isn’t deteriorating, it’s
continuing to grow, moving on to higher though functions and more ingenious ideas.