As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to

think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

With the development of modern technologies, people's lifestyle has been significantly changed. One can now easily do things that previous people even could not imagine. Currently, people cannot live at all without these technologies. Given this, some people claim that the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely be deteriorate. I cannot stand with this viewpoint, however. Because the modern society is not comparable with the previous one.

Admittedly, with convenience brought by modern technologies, many processes have become unnecessary. Think about the flourishing of the online search engines like Google. Just a simple mouse click, one can get the extensive answers of his questions immediately from the website. However, in the convenient process the searching for the reality are skipped as well. Thus, people may become lazier to really think about the answers and to prove it. This could be the evidence for the statement that people's ability of thinking will be harmed.

However, my argument if that the technologies make our life become more efficient so that we could stand on the shoulder of previous people's efforts and explore the further boundary of the objective world. For instance, in the field of artificial intelligence, we don't need to do some experients by ourselves sometimes since the datasets from the previous experiments are directly accessible and could be used to train the models. Thus, the problems we need to think about is to use the existed resources more efficiently.

Furthermore, in order to get access to modern technologies, modern people have to study interdisciplinary knowledge. Just have a look at the total working time of modern people, we are not having more leisure time because of the flourishing of technologies. Obviously, the time that we have to think is not decreased. In addition, as the modern society is a much more complex system compared with the old time, actually we are facing the most thorny problems than ever before. In fact, the technologies have created more problems at the same time. We are having to face with the explosion of populations, the global warming, the threat of nuclear weapons, etc. All of them could not be imaged by people living in the previous society. We have invented vehicles, and created, at the same time, the emission problems. Which requires more effort to be solved. Our society is in such dynamics.

Overall, we are enjoying the convenience from the technologies but at the same time trying our best to solve the thorny issues caused by them, which require us human beings to have higher cognitive level and better thinking ability and knowing about our planet than before. The modern scientific world is also more developed so that our generation could explore further on the basis of previous researchers. From this perspective, I disagree that our thinking ability will be deteriorate since we need to think more.