The following memo was published by the Welzaton City Commission.

“A recent nationwide study of the effectiveness of wearing a safety helmet while bicycling indicates that ten years ago approximately 35 percent of all bicyclists reported wearing helmets, whereas today that number is nearly 80 percent. Another study, however, cites a 200 percent increase in the number of serious accidents involving bicycles during the same period. Meanwhile, results of a local survey of frequent bicycle riders indicate that 75 percent of those riders feel “much safer” on busy roads when they wear helmets than when they don’t. Clearly, the best explanation for the rise in bicycle-related accidents is that bicyclists take more risks now than they did ten years ago because they feel safer when they are wearing helmets.

The author cites three surveys related to safety helmets and the results indicate that there have been much more people wearing helmet when bicycling. However, significant more accidents involving bicycle are witnessed these years. The statements attributes it to the feeling of safe when wearing helmet and therefore more risk-taking actions took place. The reasons may be probable, but there could be more explanations regrading lacking of additional information.

First of all, the participants of the first two surveys are likely to be different. As we can see, the first survey is a nationwide study, while the second one may be only valid in a specific region. So, it's not sensible to compare the results from them both without further information. It can be opened to another possibility that the traffic condition in a region has been much worse, which leads to the increasing accidents. If it is in that case, the final conclusion will be much weakened. Moreover, only the proportion of the increase cannot well describe the real situation in the second survey. It is possible that the total amount of serious accidents involving bycicle was really small and only few more accidents would lead to a significant growth in proportion. Thus, to compare the two surveys, further information is needed.

In addition, from the current information, we cannot know the accurate location that those accidents took place. So, the claim that the bycicle riders feel much safer on busy roads cannot support the conclusion. It is possible that the accidents didn't take place on busy roads, rather than in other areas when they feel relaxed and ignore the traffic condition. It reasonable to believe that even when wearing a helmet, one may still be cautious on busy roads. Thus, we cannot attribute the more accidents to the helmet.

Furthermore, even if the helmet can give bycicle riders more feeling of safety, it doesn't representitive that one is likely to take more risks. So, the conclusion only seems sensible at the first glance, for better evaluate the argument, additional information is needed.