Some people believe that traveling to and living in numerous places increases one’s ability

to relate and connect to other people. Others believe that this ability is better cultivated by

living in one place and developing a deep understanding of that community.

The statement compares two competing opinions and aims to figure out which style of living can better foster one's ability to connect and interact with others. I can partly agree with the both viewpoints. However, it wholely depends on different individual when it comes to the development of one's social abilities.

First of all, traveling to and living in diverse places can truly widen one's mind. As one lives in a same place for a long time, he/ she may forms a sterotype of things around. On this specific circumstance, it might not be easy for him/ her to understand the behavior and thoughts from people from other cultural backgrounds. Then, when exposed in a totally different country and culture, one may find it difficult to build connection with others. On the one hand, he/ she may feel it hard to know what foreigners are truly thinking about and what do they really mean. Are they really want to make friends with me or just being polite? On the other hand, lacking of understanding of other culture may cause their unconfidence, so that it would be even harder to relate to other people. One may argure that, people could still get to konw other countries and culture through reading books or surfing the Internet. However, the true understanding must be built on the basis of personal experience.

By comparison, always on the way seems cool, though, may cause lacking of long-term, deep connection with people. Since one's energy is limited, people are tend to decrease correspondence with former friends who are not with them at present. This would be the biggest drawback of "living on the way". After long-haul journey, one is likely to feel lonely even if they have met sort of people on the journey. But every person may just be a beautiful story for him/ her. In contrast, people with steady life style have less chance of losing their connection with long-term friends, who are highly regarded for one's life. Move back to the aforementioned situation, one may find it difficult to build connection with new, foreign people. However, it is personal preference whether to make foreign friends. For instance, residents in North Europe are thought be really shy and are not willing to make new friends after reaching their adulthood. Actually, most of their friends are from their childhood. However, they are recognized as the happiest residents in the whole as they have important, life-long friends, who can tackle most of their sadness and trouble, share happieness with. So, happieness is not related to the social ability.

To sum up, we cannot evaluate which kind of lifestyle is better for cultivating one's ability of making friends, I propose that one should experience the both and choose the suitable one.