Some believe that local communities should rely on citizen volunteers for projects benefiting those communities (e.g., organizing youth sports leagues and collecting donations for charity). Others believe that local communities are better served when professional community leaders with the necessary skills and time instead handle such projects.

The statement compares two ways for better organizing the local community. On the one hand, the citizen volunteers could be useful, as they have regular projects like organizing youth sports leagues and collecting donations for charity. On the other hand, selecting a professional community leaders, who are dedicated and have spare time to handle such projects. While both ways have their sound benefitial, I stand with the viewpoint that a highly dedicated leader may be more useful for building a better community.

Admittedly, the citizen volunteers could be really helpful, especially when people in the community do not have sufficient time to maintain community's operation. As the volunteer's team is mostly made up by people with high awareness of serving and helping others, they are likely to try them best to help with community stuff, such as helping lonely elderly, collecting donations for charity. Moreover, it could kind of money-saving method. Without extra expenditure for the human resources, the community can save a great amount of money and spend them on other things like sport facilities.

However, only depending on the citizen volunteers may be unreliable. Not because they are unreliable, but because their time and attention. There are too many communities in a city, therefore it is almost impossible for the voluntary team to coordinate perfectly. Without paying them money, it is also impossible to require them to implement voluntary projects on the regular basis. Thus, a professional community leader gains significant importance, as he/ she could be highly dedicated. The leader should mostly be selected from the community and really familiar with community's condition. Moreover, he/ she could be a person with high reputation and therefore has weight when dealing with community stuff. Also, he/she should have time and incentives to help organize the community. Therefore the regular project could be promised.

The main advantage of selecting professional community leader is with a smooth operation, it could enhance people's awareness of improving their own community. Ideally, everyone would have the sense of participation and would think more for building the community a better place to live. Therefore the community could be more harmonious. One may argue that I am too optimastic to the situation. I admit it could be a little difficult since everyone has their own life and schedule. But we are only talking about the potential advantages. Thus, the operation should be further explored.

To sum up, the local community could not only rely on the citizen volunteers because they may not gain enough attention. A professional community leader will gain more importance and build a better community with smooth operation.