Some people argue that successful leaders in government, industry, or other fields must be highly competitive. Other people claim that in order to be successful, a leader must be willing and able to cooperate with others.

The statement is trying to compare the importance of the cooperation and competition and figure out which one is more essential for a successful leader in various domains. As them are core characteristics for a leader, I argue that the contemporary leaders need to learn more skills of cooperation. I do not think it necessary to compare their importance, by comparson, we should put them into the current reality.

First of all, I want to clarify that it is more likely that the most competitive candidates are more easiliy to be the leader than to say a leader needs to be competitive. As our modern society is rife with competition. One can never stand out without winning in the competition. Admittedly, the awareness of competition will exploit one's potential talent. However, in this competition intensive society, our younger generation has already learned much for competitions. From our childhood we have been in comparison with others . Think about the College Entrance Examination in China, in order to attend the prestigious universities, high school students have to put all of their effort to win in this game. Generally, those who get into the top universities (here I mean around 35 universities in the "985 project" list) are always the one among thousand candidates. Thus, we don't need to emphasise the importance of competition anymore.

By comparison, the ability of cooperation is rarely seen among our peers. In the mechanical educational system, we are always taught how to solve the problems in our text books. However, seldom did we learn how to realize an ideal through group work. Most of times we just seem a lonely soldier. However, the ability of cooperation is the essential skill. How to cooperate and coordinate the group work, how to conduct a negotiation with people outside our team seems lose weight in the both secondary and tertiary education. Think about the Google company, few years ago when they wanted to implement market entry in China, without a smooth negotiation with Chinese government, finally both Google search engine and Google Mail are being blocked.

Why I think the ability of cooperation is more essential for our younger generation and potential leaders? Currently we are talking much about the involution, which I think is resulted from the scarcity of resources. In order to get the limited resources, we even conducted cutthroat competitions. Think in an other way, if we do things more in a team, than we could take charge of the part that we are good at respectively, that is the comparative advantage. Then, all the stakeholders will gain their profit. In fact, in the academic research field, the current trend is interdisciplinary research, the researchers in a team should enhance their comparative advantage in this way, which is also sensible in other domains.

All in all, for the futural leaders, the cooperation ability will need to be fostered to more extent.