People’s attitudes are determined more by their immediate situation or surroundings that by society as a whole.

Our attitudes are influenced by a myriad of factors. Some people argue that people’s attitudes are determined more by their immediate situation or surroundings that by society as a whole. I agree with this statement in that it is hard to ignore one’s on-the-spot condition and setting.

Admittedly, society as a whole affects people’s attitudes. When the society encounter with the serious problem, people show power of unity. This solidarity influences people’s attitudes toward the arduous tasks such as working in factories and driving large vehicles. For example, World War Ⅱ became much more serious than expected and it irritated the United States. Every possible human resource was needed in various fields of work. Urgent atmosphere made American women to change their attitudes to the work which had been considered as traditional masculine works. They showed active and enthusiastic attitudes and engaged in works such as building weapons, working in farms, and driving trucks. The Attitudes of American women are the epitome of the influence of the society as a whole.

However, people’s current situation can be more influential to their attitudes. 1950’s was the racial discriminative era. Majority of people in society thought racial discrimination or racial segregation was not iniquitous. Moreover, there was the law which justify the racial segregations. Nonetheless, Rosa Parks was influenced not by the society but by her immediate situation. When the bus driver ordered to give up her seat to the white, she disobeyed and violated the law. She displayed defiant attitude toward the unrighteous society. If she had been influenced by the society, she should have showed docile attitude. Thus, Rosa Parks is the compelling example which shows the power of current situation.

Moreover, people’s immediate surrounding can be more powerful to their attitudes. Asch conducted an experiment which revealed the conformity behavior. In this experiment, he asked participants easy perceptual questions which asked them to choose two lines with the same length. When participants were surrounded by other respondents who intentionally answered incorrectly, majority of participants gave at least one wrong answer. They displayed doubtful attitudes in spite of simple and obvious questions. Even though The United States as a whole underscores the importance of individuality and self-assertiveness, participants were largely influenced by their surrounding people.

In summary, one’s immediate situation and surroundings are more telling factors on one’s attitude. If we want to have impact one one’s attitude, we should consider not only the overall society but also immediate situation and surroundings.