Governments should focus on solving immediate problems of today rather than on trying to solve the anticipated problems of the future.

Government should deal with both short-term policies and long-term policies. However, some people argue that governments should focus on solving immediate problems of today rather than on trying to solve the anticipated problems of the future. I agree with this statement in that government should deal with the most pressing matters which affects people’s lives first.

Admittedly, government should try to solve the forecasted issue for the circumstances of preventing the hazard of natural disasters. For example, Japan is often hit by earthquakes. It is indispensable for Japanese to build structures with seismic designs. Thus, even though earthquake is not predicted in the foreseeable future, Japanese government should revise seismic design code of buildings and repair structures which do not have earthquake proof designs. It is important to take care of the circumstances associated with the predicted natural disasters since it can affect a great number of people’s lives

However, for the circumstances of serious economic difficulties, it is more important for governments to deal with immediate problems. New Deal is the compelling example of appropriate action of the government in the situation of severe economic crisis, Great Depression. As Great Depression exacerbated not only the nation as a whole but also the everyday lives of people, it was crucial for governments to make interventions. The United States could have economic recovery since Roosevelt successfully gave solutions for government involvement and welfare works. If the government does not intervene at a suitable moment, economic difficulties cannot be solved. Therefore, it is better for governments to focus on immediate economic problems.

Moreover, for the circumstances of military issues, it is more momentous for government to solve present problems. For instance, Korea is divided nation and North Korea frequently shows the actions of military provocation. If Korean government does not focus on the immediate provocation, it may lead to the actual military attacks. ROKS Cheonan sinking occurred in 2010. Before it happened, South Korean government detected the signs of provocation. However, they did not order the military to be on a full alert. As a result, ROKS Cheonan sank and more than forty people died in this incident. Military issues are not only related with diplomacy but also related with people’s lives. Thus, government should focus on solving immediate problems for the military related issues.

In conclusion, there are few circumstances for which government should focus more on the immediate problems. When the issues affect a myriad of people’s lives, government should go the extra mile for resolving those problems.