When old buildings stand on ground that modern planners feel could be better used for modern purposes, modern development should be given precedence over the preservation of historic buildings.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasonings for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

“New is always better.” is a famous line from the television show, How I met your mother. Similarly some people argue that modern development should be given precedence over the preservation of historic buildings for the modern purposes. However, I disagree with this statement in that historic buildings can also be used for modern purposes.

First, historic building can be a better option since it tends to be built with higher quality materials than the newly built ones. Old buildings which were built before the World War Ⅱ tends to be built with high quality materials. Old hardwood and solid bricks which modern developers cannot find nowadays were the main materials for the buildings. Moreover the regulations back then were much stricter than nowadays. Thus it can stand strong wind better due to its wind restraint construction. For example, developers had planned to tear down Kennedy-Baker-Walker-Sherrill house and build new office building. However, it could be preserved because council approved the zoning deal. After this approval it has been used as the new office building for the Knox Wellness which the developers wanted to build. Since West Knoxville is prone to tornadoes, many city developers think it was a great choice to use old buildings for the office in the long term. Therefore if developer need a building in the area prone to tornadoes or other natural disasters, it is better to use old buildings for the modern purposes.

Also, there are some business fields which thrive better when it is located in the old buildings. Atmosphere is very important for making customers buy one’s products. Granted, major chain stores can sell better in the newly built buildings. They need to display modern and clean images. However, urban activist Jane Jacobs stated that some business can earn more economic advantages if it is located in old buildings. For example, bookstores, ethnic restaurants, antique stores, pubs, and small start-ups can sell better in the historic buildings. Unique and quirky ambience of the stores can attract people who enjoy traditional foods and collect antiques. Therefore there is no need to destroy historic buildings if developers want new buildings for these purposes.

In summary, modern developers should not be always given precedence over the preservation of historic buildings. We should scrutinize the purpose and area of the business thoroughly before we decide to tear down old buildings.