People's behavior is largely determined by forces not of their own making.
The author claims that behavior is mainly a result of circumstances around us, rather than our own making. 'Behavior' has a plethora of different definitions and meanings.
Although every one has a story of difficult situations, response to such situations is in our hands. Accepting a situation and molding it make us much stronger and positive.
Our approach to different situations is what defines our behavior. I firmly state that situations do impact us, and what we do to get out of such situations define us.
Many students face with similar situations like bullying at school. Everyone handles it differently, some students face the bullies strongly and teaches them a lesson, while
other students get depressed and few might ignore them and carryon with their life. So life throws situations that are unpleasant and difficult. But if we are able to approach
it in a positive way, our outlook towards life will be changed. The output will surprise us and the people around us.
Another incident of two orphan brothers, whose parent died in an accident. Both of them faced tough situations to survive in a society without any support and money.
No one were ready to give them food and shelter, Elder brother thought solution to this would be to study and go on a proper job. While the younger one got really angry
with the society and started robbing them. We can see two different approaches to the same problem. one of them thought of a long term solution and the other got carried
away by emotions and opts for short term solution. Given, such situations we see every day, we can say that our fate is in out hands. behaving impulsively and acting
irrational does more harm in the long run.
We as humans can hear and absorb everything. External factors though has impact on us, we are the most intelligent beings on this earth. We have a capability to think
and react to situations. Despite having all these virtues, we hear many inhuman incidents around us like sexual assault, murders and the most heinous crimes.
There is no one or situations to blame for such incidents except for the person who committed the crime.
Having said of all this, there will be some situations that force us to behave in certain ways to protect ourselves. When such situation arise, there is nothing that
can be done other than blaming the situation. Hence, there are some situation that we cannot avoid and act positively.
So I cannot completely deny the fact that situation forces us to act in a certain way.
To conclude, There are outliers for every scenario, and we cannot completely deny the fact the situations and surroundings have impact on people. Though we are under
the pressure of external forces, its only reasonable to think and act.