People's behavior is largely determined by forces not of their own making.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Based on people's past experiences, characteristics, and perspectives, the actions and behaviors they choose to take may differ in various ways. Even when we put two individuals in a same environment and make them go through a same process, the results may differ. Many factors are capable of influencing the decisions and actions people wish to pursue, and I believe that it depends on the individual whether which criteria would be more dominant than the other criteria.

For some people, external forces might be the predominant factor that influences their behavior. Especially for those who take other people's interest for their living such as celebrities or politicians. Their publicity is the key to their welfare and it can be diminished if they do not provide satisfaction to the public. For example, many Disney stars who started their career at a very young age claim that they suffered from many psychological diseases because they felt like they were loosing their own personality due to constant exposure to the public. They had to gratify the needs of the public such as unwillingly exposing nudity or behaving in ways that were opposite from their own personality. Because the public's interest was extremely essential for them, they had to choose their actions and behavior based on external forces.

On the contrary, those whose lives are not affected by how other people perceive them, have the free will to choose their actions based on their own making. I would like to mention Bill Gates as an example. He had attended a prestigious university in the past but decided to quit school in order to pursue his dream of founding his own company. Even though his friends and families objected with his decision, claiming that it might ruin his life and even only by graduating the university he was attending, it is well-known that he would be able to get employed in prodigious companies. However, he defied all external forces because he had faith in his own decision and decided to pursue with his dream. He is now known as the most rich person in the world, and has founded one of the world-wide companies, Google. If he had chosen his actions and behavior based on the external forces, he would not have been able to achieve what he has achieved now.

To sum up, there could be various criteria that can affect one's behavior and one criterion can dominate the other criteria depending on their environments, their characteristics, and their perspectives. However, even though external force may be a large determinant factor that can affect people's behavior, it may not be equitable to other people.