People should question the rules of authority as opposed to accepting them passively.

In around the world, there is various kind of authority. Some of them are very generous, some are autonomous or oppressive. Every authority has their individual legislative power to regime an institution. I strongly agree with this argument for questioning the rule of authority when it is opposite of general people’s benefit.

Firstly, for example, everybody knows about “ The International Mother Language” movement which was one of the greatest achievements for Bangladesh. The Pakistani (former West Pakistan) wanted to suppress the Bengali language from the Bangladeshi (former East Pakistan) where most of the Bangladeshi was speaking in Bengali. Moreover, Pakistani wanted to assign Urdu as an official language. But, East Pakistan protested against this decision and Pakistani government became violent. They killed young student who attends this protest. Then, many young students broke the law against Pakistani and protest more intensively and finally after many years later Bengali became the official language. So, without questioning social change and shaping of the future is impossible.

Secondly, some might argue with questioning authority can lead a violent action which is not beneficial for the citizen. Action can isolate people into two groups which increase misunderstanding, violation in a country. As a result, segregation, disorder and hindrance of the progress of a country. Take an instance, India ruled by British colony for almost for 200 years. The citizen of India was repressive by oppressive dictator of the British government. One of the greatest leader Mohan Das Gandhi first raised voice against British for their injustices. He also believed in non-violent protest and encouraged millions of Indian to attend in this protest. After many years back, British leaved India and India became independent.

On the other hand, government is not always acting evil action. If the action is beneficial for the individual citizen then the individual should agree with the government. For example, in our country, Bangladesh has a law that every child must be gone to school and education is free for girls up to higher secondary level. If people disagree with this governmental decision then it will be harmful for future generation. Therefore, people should not always oppose authority without understanding the big picture.

To conclude, opposition is essential for developing a better country but if the decision is harmful for the country.