People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

Decision making is a very important aspect of everyone's life.The decisions that one takes today determines what position one would be in the future.This makes it very necessary for one to think very carefully while taking any important decision in life as one wrong decision can lead to many sleepless nights in future.

Due to this importance regarding making decisions it is essential that they should be taken practically rather than emotionally.Emotions such as anger, envy, love, etc, may weaken a person's ability to take the right decision.So, I strongly agree with the author's statement.Consider a student who is being upbraided because of his mis-behaviour.The teacher who is scolding the student gets a bit personal and questions his upbringing by faulting his parents.This upsets the student very much and in a fit of rage he starts to abuse his teacher for bringing his parents into the argument.In this case the student let the emotions get better of him and took a wrong decision to argue with his teacher.Such an action on the part of a student can never be justifiable even if he says that the teacher got very personal in his remarks.Once he began abusing his teacher, he crossed all his boundaries.The better option in this case would have been to stay silent, let the teacher complete what he wants to say, then apologise and leave but for this it was necessary for the student to control his emotions.

However at the same time, there are certain places where it is always better to follow your heart and emotions.A student might be a part of a family where everyone is a doctor.But the student herself is not interested in pursuing medicine and instead fancies herself to be a great artist.In such a scenario one can argue that she should still pursue medicine because of the immense family support and help she will get and practically it would be a good decision, but inspite of all this will she ever be a good doctor when she has absolutely no passion for medicine and her interests lie solely in art? When facing such a conundrum it is always better to follow your heart.

On the whole I still believe that we must still exercise control on our emotions and make sure that we take into consideration the various results that we might have to face while taking a decision.