People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

You could use the services of http://www.testbig.com

These guys let you submit 1 essay a day on their free membership and unlimited essays a day on their paid one.

Another service that I learnt of just recently was Free Online GRE AWA Essay Grader - MBA Crystal Ball which I think is pretty cool. It’s automated (go NLP!) but very reliable for an estimate. You don’t need to include the topic but simply copy-paste your essay into the checking space, which is both a good and a bad thing IMO. I tried out out 4 of my practice essays (2 Argumentative and 2 Issue) and had scores of 5.3, 5.4, 4.7, 5.5 which gave me a mean score of 5.225 (and that’s very close to my actual AWA score of 5.0)

You get unlimited tries on both paid as well unpaid versions, with the difference being that the unpaid version simply gives you a score between 0–6 while the paid version breaks down your score and grades your essays according to its Readability, Coherence and Organization. Either way, I think it’s a pretty great piece of software and would definitely recommend it.

The GRE analytical writing is a small but important component of the test that troubles many international test takers. We’ve had several candidates asking us:

• “How can I rate my GRE AWA essay for practice?”

• “Can I download a free GRE essay e-rater?”

Well, there are a few paid options offered by some test prep companies. But not much out there that’s free and a close approximation of the real deal. So we created this free essay grader for GRE essays.

Conceptualized and developed by Sameer Kamat, the software uses Natural Language Processing (NLP) principles and our understanding of how AWA essays are evaluated. We know it’s far from perfect, since no automated essay grader can accurately do (yet) what the trained human brain can. But we hope it’s better than having no feedback at all on your practice AWA essays during the GRE preparation journey.

Grade my GRE Essay

There is no software to download. You can use our free online GRE essay immediately. All you need to do is:

1. Type or paste your GRE essay in the box below.

[Wait for the text box to load. If it’s taking too long, refresh the page.]

2. Click on the ‘Check’ button

3. Your essay grade along with the breakup across 3 dimensions (Structure, Readability and Coherence) will be displayed.

Here’s a brief introduction to the various sub-topics that our online essay evaluator covers:

Organization: This checks the attributes related to the building blocks of GRE essays i.e. attributes related to the words, sentences and paragraphs in the AWA essay.

Readability: This tests (using industry standard metrics) how easy it is for the reader to grasp what you have written. Try to maintain a balance between the over-simplistic and the hard-to-comprehend approach.

Coherence: This goes into the nuances of natural language processing and evaluates how you have connected the building blocks using the appropriate English language constructs.

For the free version here, we just show the final rating. For the premium version (available only to test prep companies for now), we include additional insights on the evaluated essay. If you manage a GRE coaching class and would like your students to access the premium version, drop us an email: info [at] mbacrystalball [dot] com