As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The topic provided in itself seems to be quite vague as it seems like I am asked to predict the future direction of humanity alongside technology. There are plethora of path available for humans to lead their technological advances. For example: If major part of technology goes into hands of evil-minded people then they might use it for destruction purposes rather than making technological advances in positive direction or, if technology gets controlled by wise human beings then that might lead us to correct direction.

This vaguely described question will have many possible conditions. The ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate but only if we humans let it to. Right now, we have the control of technologies in our own control but the day we human lose our cognitive ability might not be far away if we continue to be careless with available technologies. I myself being a millenial, to some extent, I feel like I am having a overdose of technology beyond certain limit which in one way or another might be deteriorating my ability to think for myself.

In such a vast topic, we need to have as many perspective as possible so that we can get a clearer picture of what the future of technology might look like and how it can hamper human evolution. Looking at the positive aspect, there are many humans using the technology to their optimal advantage without letting it deteriorate themselves in any way be it time utilisation or thinking ability. These wise people are taking technology in the right direction as well as influencing people who are using technology against themselves be it knowingly or unknowingly.

So, the final answer of this argument boils down to one word answer, perspective. It is all about how we see the technological direction in the near future. But, I think it will hamper humans ability to think for themselves but in very less quantity because people are being able to expand wide array of knowledge in themselves with the help of tchnologies which may actually give them even more ability to think for themselves.