People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

Decision making is not an easy task for everyone. In fact, I believe that there are no more than 10% of good decision makers in this ever expanding world. And the main reason behind such poor decision making is inclusion of unnecessary emotions during decision making process. But, saying all these, it doesn't necessarily mean that emotion always harm the decision making process. Now when it comes to justifying the decisions, If the logic behind that particular decision making process seems valid then to some extent, it can be correct but not always.

Some philosopher said that if we are able to eliminate our emotions during the major decision making process then we can improve out decision making skill a lot. Looking back at my own experiences when I had to make some decisions which would impact my life tremendously, my decisions turned out to be good whenever I took decisions without inclusion of any sort of emotions. Apart from these things, another thing I want to mention is that sometimes, we may need to add some emotions to our decision making process. For example, adding some emotions of fear to our decision might help us choose the right path.Also, some people take help of their gut feeling to make some important decision which most of the time keeps us away from making good decision.

So, what I basically mean is that, we need to make many decisions even before making our major decisions. Looking into the context of my senior, alumni of my college, desperately wanted to pursue his Ph. D.from the United States of America but the problem being that he is married already, he would be required to go to the US alone because due to some US Immigration Law, he was not permitted to take his wife to the US. Now he had a really tough decision to make, Either he had to supress his dream and live in his own native country with his wife whom he loved a lot or to go to the US to pursue his dream to complete his Ph. D. from the US. Due to his emotions, he ended up killing his dream.

So for the question: How does emotion hamper our decision making skill?, we can lean ourselves towards any ways because both the answers seem to be almost equally correct because emotions can either help us or ruin us while making decisions. It is just a matter of perspective and the situation in which we are required to make decision. Personally, what I feel is, If we are required to make decision in our professional life then we must remove emotions completely from decision making because even if we justify those with logic afterwards, its not best decision.