People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Decision making is a complicated process and it requires a lot of pondering and analyzing all possible outcomes; the decision made on emotional basis often leads to the failure of the good judgement and makes it's implementation insignificant. The prompt suggests that people who make decisions based on emotion and verify them afterwards are poor decision makers. In my opinion, I am completely consonant to the statement because of the following reasons.

To begin, the emotional decision leads to the unjust treatment and leads to the biasness. For instance, consider a judge making decisions based on the feelings rather that the facts and evidences; will he make make good judgement? Of course not, the emotional attachment makes person weak and incompetent to decide the good or bad for any circumstances. The judge should be able to make critical judgements based on the available facts and evidences. Similarly, if a politician makes the judgement based on the emotional basis, then he would be biased towards his families and acquitances; eventually, leading to the considerable loss or unfairness among the people. Therefore, the decisions should be based on the overall critical thinking.

Moreover, the decision making on the professional career is equally important for the success of a person; if the person is incompetent while decision making then he will achieve nothing. For instance, for a civil engineer, he has to make daily decisions in site and should be able to manage company's staff and the people of the environment on which he is working. If he can't handle the situation and makes decision based on emotion without considering the all aspects that might affect the project as a whole, and doesn't involve his rational thinking during decision making, then he is a poor decision maker. Also, the decision based on emotion can be fair to one household but it might affect the region and project as a whole. Justifying those decisions afterwards will be futile.

Furthermore, one should be able to consider the all aspects of any decisions and statements made, otherwise the decision will fall apart while implementing. For instance, in one of the biggest project in Nepal - Postal Highway- the lack of proper meditation on the situation has lead to the failure of the project as a whole. The decision makers didn't considered the effect of the destruction of forest (Chitwan National Park) on the rare species- like bengal tiger and one horned rhino- and made decision to construct the road which is now in hault.

In sum, the decision should be based on the critical thinking and one should ponder about all - positive and dark - sides of any decision. The afterward logic to justify the previous statement are pointless and such decision makers are of no use.