A person who knowingly commits a crime has broken the social contract and should not retain any civil rights or the right to benefit from his or her own labor

Since ages crime has been a part of the society to some extent, no matter how much we try but crime cannot be completely eliminated from any society. In this stament author asserts that a person who knowingly commits crime has broken the social contract and should not retain rights to benefit from his or her own labor. I do not agree with this statement as it is indefensible from empirical and normative standpoint.

Crime can be done knowingly or unknowingly. When a person knowingly commits crime the reason behind it could be self-benefit or some considerable reason. In our daily life everyone has done crime at some or the other point, only the difference is it was not much harmful. Not following traffic rules when we are getting late, lying over a call to boss because you want to go out for a movie with your friend are also considered as crime. But here we are taking about more serious crimes that affects society.

When a person who has knowingly commited a crime gets caught, it is very much necessary to know reason behind why he/she has commited crime. For example, a watchman working for years in your society at bare minimun wage, asks for extra money for a month in order to take care of his child who is the hospital. But, society member denied to pay extra money saying it's his personal issue and need to take care of it by himself. As situations did not favor watchman and he decides to steal some money from one of the resident's house, gets caught red handed. In such situations I believe it is not right to decide that he should not retain any civil rights or the right to benefit from his or her own labour.

Additionally, it is thoughtful to take such extreme actions only for the crimes that have very bad effects on a society. For example, Nirbhaya case in Delhi, where a girl was raped inside a bus during day time by 7 men eventually died. The people who commited this crime not only should retain civil rights or the right to benefit from his/her own labour but should be given punishment that would scare any other person before commiting such crime. Unless and untill crime is incorrigable and its effect are profound on society the extreme actions of retaining civil rights are not justifiable. Continuing with the example mentioned in the previous paragraph

if the crime is done with no mal-intension and does not affect society in major way we should not retain civil rights of that person from his or her own labour.

Some people might argue that if punishment is not given many more people would be encouraged to do crime. However, it is true a punishment should be given but retaining someone's cicil rights for his/her own labour is extreme. For example, a 10 year old kid stealing food from your house because he was hungry do not deserve such extreme punsihment. If we as a responsible citiznes supports those who are in need whenever possible such crimes can be avoided. If watchman mentioned in third paragraph would have got help from the society members he wouldnt have commited crime.

In sum, however there are arguments to be made from both the sides. The argument that a person who knowingly commits crime has broken the social contract and should not retain rights to benefit from his or her own labor is not defensible. Unless and untill reason behind commiting crime is not known it, one cannot come to the conclusion given by statment.