People should question the rule of authority as opposed to accepting them passively
The writer concludes that the city government should devote more money in this year's budget to riverside recreational facilities.
The author assumes that use of river for water sports is sure to increase because, the state has recently announced plans to clean up
Mason River. However the conclusion relies on assumption for which there is no clear evidence.
Firstly, author cities surveys of city resident's and claims that city resident love water sports. However, the scope and validation
of survey is not clear. For example, the survey could have asked people if they prefer using river for water sports or would like
to see hydropelectric damn built, which might have tempted resident to choose water sports as an option. Residents whose survey was
taken might not represent whole city and are resident staying near river side. Survey could have been 10 pages long with only two questions
on water sports. Unless the survey is fully representative, valid and reliable, it cannot be used to effectively support author's
assumption.
In addition, author assumes that residents currently do not use river water for swimming, boating and fishing because it is polluted
and smelly. Although, it is mentioned that for years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of water it cannot be
identified upto what level water was polluted. Hence, we cannot determine exact relatinoship between lack of river use and current state
of the river. Author could have strengthen his/her argument by taking a survey of wide range of resident
by asking them why they currently do not use the river. Building upon this assumption, author concludes that cleaning up of river would
increase use of river for water sports. Unless the reason behind not using river currrently is not known, one cannot come to this conclusion.
According to the author, reason behind not using river for sports currently is smell and polluted water. But reason for this smell
and pollution is not stated. Smell might come from a natural phenomenon or bacteria that surrounds river also, there are some water bodies
that emit a strong smell of sulphur due to geographical location. If this is the reason, it cannot be solved by cleaning up the river.
Regardless of whether river clean up will solve the pollution and smell problem. It's impact on river usage is still unknown because
author does not show effective connection between river usage and pollution.
In the conclusion, this argument depends on certain simplified assumptions about cleaning up river will increase river usage for water sports and
hence city government should for that reason devote more money in this year's budget to riverside recreational facilities.
The author could have strengthen the argument by discussing other factors beyond clean up of river and by implimenting more reliable surveys
before concluding that, the city government should for that reason devote more money
in this year's budget to riverside recreational facilities.