The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition

The author of the statement asserts that having sense of cooperation is more important than competition for any leader in government, industry or any other field. Hence, it is best way to prepare young people of society by instilling them a sense of cooperation, not competition. I agree with the author's statement as it is defensible from both normative and empirical standpoint.

Statement tries to build relationship between a good leader and cooperation among leader and people(whom he is leading). It is a leader who is responsible for performance of the people whom he is leading. For example, status of any state in the country which includes financial stability, standard of living, employment rates etc. depends upon leader of that state in direct or indirect way. As he will have rights to make any major change in the policies. Thus, leader in order to have good judgement and take actions in favor of welfare of people, need an understanding of stregth and weakness plus few more factors of people under him.

Furthermore, elaborating on point mentioned previously, to understand people and their strength and weakness leader need to experience problems faced by them. Cooperation helps leader to experience them personally. For example, In a factory producing metal utensils, process involves multiple steps that includes heating of metal then purifying it by various process, molding, colling etc. This process requires large number of people to coordinate each other for making final product. Leader who has designed this process of making final product if cooperates with employee, by cooperation means to perform daily activities done by them. He might get few ideas to improve it in some or the other way. Even small improvement in one of the process can save considerable amount of money for industry.

Additionally, cooperation also builds trust between the leader and people under him. When people know that leader have an idea of struggle that we are facing and is helping to improve our life, that eventually leads in building trust among them. However, when there is continuous sense of competition people might be pressurised.

Some people might argue that, competition helps in improving performance and progress.Though, it is true for a leader to understand people is more important than their competition in order to have overall growth and welfare of society.

In the sum, however there are argument to be made from both the sides, It is more

cogent argument to have sense of coopration among young people than sense of competition to become good leaders.