In Megalopolis, the number of law school graduates who went to work for large, corporate firms declined by 15 percent over the last three years, whereas an increasing number of graduates took jobs at small, general practice firms. Even though large firms usually offer much higher salaries, law school graduates are choosing to work for the smaller firms most likely because they experience greater job satisfaction at smaller firms. In a survey of first-year students at a leading law school, most agreed with the statement that earning a high salary was less important to them than job satisfaction.This finding suggests that the large, corporate firms of Megalopolis will need to offer graduates more benefits and incentives and reduce the number of hours they must work.

In this survey author concludes that corporate firms of Megalopolis will need to offer more benefits and incentives to law school graduates and they also need to reduce the number of hours they must work. To support his conclusion author cites the following facts about law school graduates : (1) The number of law school graduates who went to work for large, corporate firms declined by 15 percent over the last three years. (2) Even though large firms usually offer much higher salaries, law school graduates are more inclined to work for smaller firms because they experience greater job satisfaction at smaller firms. (3) In a survey of first-year students at leading law school, most of the students said that earning high salary was less important to them as compared to job satisfaction. The argument rests on a series of unsubstantial assumptions, and thus, not strong enough to lead to the author's conclusion.

Firstly, author sites that number of law school graduates joining large firm have declined by 15 percent over the last three years. Even if this is true, there could be multiple factors responsible for decrease in this number. For example, many times corporate firms have their offices in out skirts of cities, which makes its difficult for people to travel everyday. Hence, people would prefer working in smaller firms if they are close to their residence.

In addition, author assumes that, even though large firms usually offer much higher salaries,law school graduates are choosing to work in the smaller firms because they experience greater job satisfaction at smaller firms. Usually big corporate firms have a dedicated team to perform a particular task. For example, large corporate firms have a dedicated department to take care of all the paperwork and laws. However, small firms do not have such dedicated department to take care of these things. Which creates burden and stress on employee working. Hence, it cannot be assumed that they experience greater job satisfaction at smaller firms.

Citing survey of first-year students at a leading law school, author assumes that most of the students are less inclined towards high salary and job satisfaction is more important to them. Clearly, the survey is not fully representable as it represents a very smaller sample space and placements generally starts in the final year of any graduate program. Unless and until the survey is fully representative one cannot come to the conclusion that law graduates are more inclined towards working for a smaller firm.

Author could have supported his recommendation by taking a fully representative and reliable survey asking a wide range of people, to find out exact reason behind inclination towards smaller firms. Survey should also include students who are passed out and have joined these smaller firms in order to know exact reason behind why they chose working in smaller firm over large corporate firm. Additionally survey question should also include job satisfaction criteria and if they are present in large corporate firms.

In sum, the recommendation relies on certain doubtful assumptions. The argument with such obvious loopholes and fallacies do not stand up to a scrutiny. Had the author supported his argument by implementing more reliable survey, it would have helped him in bolstering his conclusion. However, in the absence of this data, the argument is unsubstantiated and hence author's stand is vindicated.