A person who knowingly commits a crime has broken the social contract and should not retain any civil rights or the right to benefit from his or her own labor.

The crux of the topic was that a person who commits crime deliberately should not retain any civil rights or civil benefits for his or her labour. I personally disagree with the statement for the following reasons and I am going to provide some epitome to bolster my stance.

First of all, crime and criminal activities are social-economical problems of our society and to curtail the crime, the law has been implemented. A criminal already had punished for his or actions and over that deprive his right seems overdose and might exacerbate the situation. civil rights are basic human rights and even the government is bound to provide the basic right to the citizens. In spite of deliberately or unknowingly commits, civil rights should not be taken away.

Our law punishes people according to their crime intensity and not all the crimes, even though knowingly done maybe because of the situations. For example, forbidding law can be criminal activity. So, when a person deliberately broke traffic law can be criminal and because of the crime he should not retain any civil rights, or a person who steal foods in hunger also a criminal, another example is a woman murdered someone while protecting herself should be treated as a social outcast. this seems unfeasible and ludicrous. Not all the crime activity trying to harm the base of society, and besides people who had been punished and punished again for the same actions seems unreasonable.

implementing strict law or took away social right cannot solve criminal activity. To completely eradicate the crime we have to understand the social and economic problem of the situation in which the crimes had been committed. Sometimes, after sentenced people try to go back to the normal life but if civil right and benefits had been taking away from them they go towards the same criminal path because he has to survive. Deprive civil rights and benefits does not make our society a happy place, for example, Denmark is the happiest country because every person have their equal basic human rights and that causes less criminal activities.

On the other hand, people might argue that there are crimes which are heinous enough to create as a pariah and civil rights should not be given to them. For example, terrorism and gang wars, they free from jail and commits the same crime again and again. This might be true that in some cases deprive social rights is sound and just but treated every crime and criminal as a social outcast does not sound pragmatic.

At the epilogue of the topic, I would say that we must understand the situation and intensity of a crime before treated them also law sentenced punishment according to their crime, outcast the criminals does not solve the problem. We must address the root cause if we want to eradicate the crimes.