TPO-21 - Independent Writing Task

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

For success in a future job, the ability to relate well to people is more important than studying hard in school.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Comparison of Importance between studies hard in school versus the communication skills; this is a hard debated topic for years. I personally agree with the statement that communication skill is far more important than study books. I am going to give the variety of points to bolster my theory.

First of all, study subjects only give you the knowledge, but by studying one can actually do not know how to use the knowledge. In order to utilities the knowledge, need the experience. For example, Communication needed in an office so that juniors and seniors can shear their knowledge. A newcomer in an office has the specific knowledge but do not know where to utilize it, where a senior person can know what is wrong in a job by merely looking at it. So, to gain the experience the newcomer must communicate with his senior. That way he can learn more and reproof his fault.

For success in the job, one needs to communicate with others. Because only by communicating with fellow workers I can gain the specific experience for the specific job. For example, while I was working for a company, there is a problem with the design while constructing a bridge. No one knows the fault because there was a communication gap between engineers and labors. If engineers talk to the workers before, then there will be no confusion. So, in order to understand each other better, you have to communicate.

Communication skill is also important in management jobs. A manager must properly communicate with his workers so he knows any kind of inconvenience they face, and that also helps to bolster the relationship between higher and lower order workers. Moreover, when a student represents a company or present a seminar to the customers, he has to be articulate about his idea must have fluently organized his thoughts and present the main idea. For example, Steve jobs, Imagine if Steve jobs did not have that unique style of presentation skill or due to poor communication skill he stopped in the middle of his presentation, what happened to the Apple products? Communication helps to sell the products. So, a sells manager also needs the communication skill of marketing his product. Another example, in a car showroom, a salesperson can sell a car by enticing a customer on his communication skill.

Other fields of jobs, like a teaching job, a good teacher communicates with his students in order to keep them motivated in the class. Others job also need communication skills, because communication skills not only help in the professional aspect but we can influence others by our communication, while studies only can help to grow knowledge on a specific subject.