A person who knowingly commits a crime has broken the social contract and should not retain any civil rights or the right to benefit from his or her own labor.

I don't fully agree that a person who knowingly commits a crime should not retain any civil rights or right to benefit from his or her own labor. Punishment should be proportional to gravity of the the crime committed, as not all crimes result to equal social unrest.

First, lets consider a person helping victim of a car accident. If accident had occured in a remote place where ambulance service is not available and the person decides to drive the victim to nearest hospital, he can break few traffic rules on the way. He can drive past speed limit, jump signal if there is no traffic or even swithch lanes frequently. Although the person is fully aware that not complying to traffic rules is a crime, situation demands him to break those rules. In this case it's unfair to punish the person without fully understanding the circumstances and to deprive him of civil rights would be an extreme measure.

Furthermore, if a homeless who cannot afford to buy food, tries to steal a little food from supermarket just to feed his/her children, is commiting a crime consciously. Situation demands for him to commit the crime. Loss of little food doesn't really make big difference to supermarket owner. Infact supermarket might be just discarding expired food, if no one buys them. Atleast in this case it is feeding hungry children. Although stealing is a crime, it should be punished considering the object being stolen and motives behind.

Lastly, just revoking civil rights or right to benefit from his own labour is not sufficient to terrorist inovled in mass shooting or bombing, they desereve to be punished with extreme punishment like life time imprisonment or hang till death. Even in this case punishment should be proportional to gravity of the situation.

Sometimes people commit crime being fully aware of the consequences, sometimes they will be victim of the situation and will br forced to commit it. Depraving them of civil rights will be extreme measure, Everyone commiting crime should be punished according to the crime they committed and impact it will have on society.