According to a recent report from our marketing

department, during the past year, fewer people attended

Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year.

And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie

reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually

increased during the past year. Clearly. the contents of

these reviews are not reaching enough of our

prospective viewers. Thus. the problem lies not with the

quality of our nioVies but With the public's lack of

awareness that movies of good quality are available.

Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share

of its budget next year to reaching the public through

advertising.

Director of Super Screen Movie Production Company concludes that, although quality of the movie they produced last year were good, fewer people attended the movies because of lack of publicity, hence greater budget has to be allocated next year for advertisements. In order to consider this recommendation few questions have to be answered like validity of the report from marketing department, true reason for decline in viewership and also validity of the positive reviews from the critics.

First, director mentions about report from marketing department which concluded that number of people attending movie has declined during last year. However, scope and validity of this report is not clearly explained. For example, it is possible that in the previous year more movies were produced by the company compared to present year, which can be the reason for more number of people attending the movie. If the the scope and validity of the report is clearly stated and its proves to be accurate only then the recommendation holds good.

Second, director states that although movies received positive reviews from critics,people are not turning up because they are not aware of the reviews. This claim seems baseless. There is possiblity that reviews might have reached the people, but they didn't attend the movie just because the review was published by some other critic whose reputation was not well establised. In order director's claim reagarding reviews not reaching people to be valid, scientific survey has to be conducted to really understand that people are not aware of the new movies released.

While directors claim to allocate greater budget to promote movies seems reasonable, it fails to make compelling case. Director's argument makes numerous unstated assumption, that seriously undermines the validity. In order to make a compelling case director has to answer the questions discussed above.