A pet food company recalled 4 million pounds of pet food in response to complaints that pets that had consumed the food experienced vomiting, lethargy, and other signs of illness. After the recall, the pet food company tested samples from the recalled food and determined that all chemicals found in the food were chemicals that are approved for use in pet food. Thus, the recalled food was not responsible for these symptoms, and the company should not devote further resources to the investigation.

It is clear that the pet food company should conduct a further investigation regarding their recalled pet food to understand if there were other factors that could have made their customers sick.

The ingredients included in the company's pet food may be approved for use but it is not clear how much of each ingredient is allowed or being consumed. There is a possibility that the company exceeded the recommended limit of the approved ingredients and that their customers are overdosing and becoming sick. The pet food company should also research how large of a dose each pet is receiving. If each pet is receiving more than the company's recommended dosage then, while the company may not be liable, they should take action to correct this behavior.

The Pet food company should also conduct a full audit into the processing and manufacturing of their dog food. Although each individual ingredient may be approved for use, there is a possibility that their product has been contaminated at some point before it reached their customers. The company should investigate its health and safety practices and also test the recalled product for contamination.

If, after reviewing the ingredients limits, each customer's food intake and investigating if the product was contaminated, the company has still not produced any findings; then it should do more research on customers who got sick. There is a possibility that the dog food was not the reason these dogs got sick and there is some other unknown phenomenon happening with their customers. The only way to understand this would be to do more research to see if the pet company can find other commonalities among those who got sick.