The primary goal of technological advancement should be to increase people s efficiency so that everyone has more leisure time

Has increased efficiency contributed by developed technologies leaded people to have more leisure time?

And is it the main goal of progress of technology?

Some argues that it is true that a way of people live has incredibly ameliorated due to the efficiency following technology growth, others mentions it is obvious that technologies have brought merits in various fields but also a variety of side effects such as expanded labor time and poor work environments.

In my view, however, I disagree with the statement.

Obviously, It can be said that increased productivity had contributed to amplify efficiency which definitely had changed the way how people deal with their daily lives.

For example, In the past before modernization, most people who needed thick clothes for upcoming winter had to gather cotton, threads, and buttons from wild nature or interchange with their neighbors who had it.

Then they fabricated clothes with various making tools themselves.

To the contrast, this sequential process has been simplified and segmentized these days.

Each companies and groups performs allocated stage; importing resources, making items, providing products to people.

Consequently, this mass-manufacturing process has improved efficiency incredibly, which finally help people's lives more abundant.

However, although increased efficiency has leaded into luxurious lives, the leisure time people enjoy has been frozen, even diminished.

what could be the main factors which has decreased leisure time?

I suppose that increased effectiveness simultaneosly worsen labor circumstances.

Thanks to the developed technology, people can work with their smartphone on a transportation while they come to work with a advanced communication technology.

And the elevated efficiency promotes employers to anticipate maximized products, which explicitly requires much more struggles to meet increased company's target comparing to the past.

Furthermore, the more technologies advanced, the more convoluted and abtruse skills are needed for most employees to manipulate at work, which cause people to do excessive study after leaving work during, perhaps, their leisure time.

Another point of disagreement with the speaker is the claim that the main purpose of advanced technology should be to provide maximum leisure time.

In our society, there are plenty of fields that applying much more important outcomes of advanced technology, not merely securing leisure time.

For example, people nowdays could be diagnosed easily with the help of medical and bio-engineering when they caught diseases.

And through the advent of communication technology, most students can be provided much better quality of education regardless of geological restrictions.

Also, when looking at powerplant regarding constant supplies of electricity for imperative infrastructures such as hospital, school, it implicits that chemistry and engineering are used for sustaining our social based facilities.

In short, the use of technology in the above-mentioned sectors is more vital to society than providing leisure time.

Consequently, the statement that technology should be primarily used to reserve leisure time is clearly questionable.

In fact, a reality runs opposite way that the leisure time has not expanded, rather diminished because of technology.

And the main purpose of technology should be for fundamental values : Health, Education, Safety.