Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Scandals are useful in the way described by the claim, but not in all cases and with some important caveats. Scandals have some negative qualities that merit due consideration when assessing the overall usefulness of such events. In this response a scandal is defined as any kind of misconduct previous unknown to the public being broadcasted to the masses, usually propagated by the media.

I agree that scandals can be useful to focus attention on problems that would not have received attention otherwise. Consider a situation in which the president of the United States evades taxes or colludes with a foreign country. A scandal that brings out this information would invariably focus the public’s attention on an important problem that puts the moral character and loyalties of the president into question. Such a scandal might lead to impeachment, effectively ousting an undesirable leader. With that being said, it is not the case that a speaker or reformer could not accomplish a feat of similar importance. To support this claim we need only to look at MLK Jr. who led a social revolution that produced profound changes by focusing the public’s attention on a huge problem in society.

Furthermore, it is important to consider some of the negative aspects of scandals. Firstly, they are sometimes drawn-out, over-publicized, and blown out of proportion. The media loves a good scandal, and scandals get great ratings. This leads to potential overemphasis on an undeserving topic. For example, a small scandal might arise over a video of a president not saluting a military officer as he/she walks by. This event might lead to extensive news coverage and public attention, taking away from coverage of more important issues like health care or poverty rates. In a similar vein, scandals can be used and reused to unfairly discredit a person. Drawing on the previous example once again, lets imagine that the president did actually salute the officer, but the video starts after this occurs. Once the public and the media perpetuate the scandal, it is difficult to mitigate the damage done to the person’s reputation and image. So although scandals can be useful in the way the claim proports, they can also lead to overreaction, unwarranted public scrutiny, and less media coverage of more important problems.