Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

“World changes, so do processes and so do rules”. In other words, it is to be believed that in order to maintain the growth trajectory, one has to respond to the changing conditions and therefore, has to change the process to bring in reforms. However, no piece of research has stated assertively that whether the reforms are being undertaken out of a will to change or some underground forces making them to happen. The prompt here, gives the premise that scandals are beneficial to reform since it attracts our attention in a way that a reformer cannot think of. In my view I strongly agree with this idea and even would reiterate the famous quotes from one of the freedom fighters of India; “in order to attract attention or bring reform, bomb blast in the form of scandal is necessary”. The further elaboration on my view is presented in the following paragraphs.

Firstly, when judiciary and bureaucracy, which is considered as the two most important pillars of democratic society, are considered to be prone to venality and malfeasance, scandals are necessary to change it. For instance, when NGOs and civil society found through the whistle blowers that appointment in the judiciary is rigged and it works as per the preferences of influential people, the government of India promulgated the law that made their selection, appointment and promotion independent of any government and political parties. Further, when the scandal of coal scam erupted and international governments heeded to it, government allayed the fears of investigation department being manipulated by collision between government and business leaders. The corollary was that, government had brought in the legislation barring the auction of coal fields through physical files and made this process transparent and electronic. Both these examples show that how scandals brought in reforms in judiciary and bureaucracy. It matters because scandals attracted the attention of common masses and international media which forced the national authorities to change the processes.

Secondly, when it comes to money, it is inherent to assume that most people have cupidity and it is widespread irrespective of the location. For instance, when bankers in UK collided and made huge profits through LIBOR, the opposition parties in UK asserted that capitalism is responsible for the tribulations of masses. During the investigation of LIBOR process and how banks decide on lending and borrowing rates, it was found that these bankers manipulated their earnings and liabilities intentionally to make money. This scandal changed the process of LIBOR since then. Further when the scandal came to light in 2018 in India related to possible collision between a businessman and few bankers on circumventing the law stating the submission of prescribed documents for availing loan facility, it was found that law was silent and weak describing this process and this revelation forced authority to change banking rules. Both the cases prove how scandals exposed the crony businessmen to people for scorn. It matters since public scorn and contempt urged the government to amend the laws.

Thirdly, the research has shown that scandals are common in political circle. So is reform. For instance, when the news broke out about the bankruptcy of Air India, authorities ordered the probe in its financials and investigation found that Air India losses were due to political advantage and it explained how a political leader used the national carrier to exploit its links. This scandal brought the reform requiring no political leader will be on board of any of the commercial entity. Further, on similar lines, when it was widely known that a businessman and political party were responsible for substandard military equipment procured from a linked party, it led to mass protest in the India. And investigation by an independent entity concluded that it was a collision between them that exposed the national security of a country. This scandal forced government to abstain from negotiating any further procurement deals. Both the instances validate that scandals are even useful to preserve the national fabric of a country. It is appreciable since scandals helped the country to preserve its reputation at world stage.

Of course some would argue that scandals are not useful to bring in reforms when reformers and leaders are willing to work as desired. However, the critics of this idea must know and understand that the world is fragile today and it is competitive where everyone is trying to grab what belongs to somebody else and no one is sticking to any religious or moral principles. And moreover, no one can deny that today authorities, government, judiciary and capitalists work together for personal mutual gains. Therefore, scandals are mandatory for a country, if it wants to change for the better and for its citizens.