Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

While scandals vary greatly in the magnitude of uproar, today’s news discusses a scandal of extreme importance. Presidential impeachment has only occurred twice historically, which may change to soon include President Donald Trump to the list. The scandal he created in foreign affairs and Russian alliances has exploded into a dramatic show which rarely addresses the original issue. News channels act as a dramatic catalyst, causing a reaction which hides the true issue and draws attention to the wrong side.

That being said, there is some truth behind the claim as scandals do bring awareness to a larger audience than a typical speaker would. When addressing some issues over dramatization is a productive technique, child safety for example. A scandal involving child safety at a school results in the audience thinking of their own children and loved ones, which is an effective method of communication. However, most scandals do not use this method productively and would be effectively communicated as a speech.

Scandals are blown out of proportion when media covers the issue. The claim assumes the attention of the audience will focus on problems that could not be presented by a speaker. This is a stretch as the media coverage of scandals is specific to one event and often distracts the audience from the moral violation that occurred. To illustrate, Bill Clinton was impeached for his affairs which resulted in sexual assault and lying under the oath. During this scandal, the media released information on the mistresses involved. However, they did not have any impact on the scandal as the crime was because of Bill Clinton and his authority and honesty. Therefore, this scandal did not productively use the audience’s attention to focus on problems outside the capabilities of a reformer.

Additionally, the ways that scandals achieve an audience’s attention are not conducted in an effective manner. The media coverage becomes so extreme that the unimportant details are exposed. For example, when an employee is dismissed for misuse of a company credit card their attitude and diligence is also discussed. These factors, while important conversations during an annual review, have no grounds to diminish the crime committed. These conversations are then gossip, an unproductive and often untrue method of communication. Consequently, scandals are in fact unproductive and have little value.

Finally, because scandals can vary so dramatically in their importance, each situation must be addressed and considered individually. Who was affected by this scandal and to what effect? If the crime goes unpunished, what implications may this have in the future? What laws or rules were broken and what was the intent of the situation? All these questions must be answered when considering the importance of a scandal.

In conclusion, scandals are not often classified as useful method of communication because of the dramatic exaggeration involved. A well-respected speaker or reformer may use effective communication tools and achieve the same outcome in a much more productive way. The claim addressing scandals as useful must be reconsidered with all contributing factors and viewpoints.