Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim In developing and supporting your position be su

Due to the advancement of technology, the Internet, and specifically social media, spreading scandals are rapidly increased. People use these websites or applications to share their news. Some claim these scandals and spreading in the society would be beneficial, while some believe it has several disadvantages for society. I mostly agree with the latter one and I will explain my reasons.

First of all, most of the scandals are proposed false information and these can destroy the face of celebrities, sportsmen, or officials. Thus, these people should waste their time and money to show the scandals are wrong whereas they could spend this time and money on better purposes. For example, George Cloney, one of the famous actors in Hollywood, faced scandals that accused his sexual abuse of his colleague. He had to lay off his job for one year because no director wanted to work with him while before this scandal he always had some proposed jobs. He spent about a year following it in court and finally, the court result showed he was not guilty.

Moreover, the origin of scandals is unknown. Any people could concoct a scandal and due to his power in social media, he could spread his scandal. Thus, some companies, organizations, or even newspapers abuse this ability and try to sell their products or guide public opinions. For example, in the COVID-19 pandemic period, a scandal spread in Iran that Remesiders, a medicine, could remedy the disease completely. People started to buy the stock of producers of this product in Iran. After about a week, The share of these companies increase twice and the news showed that it is just a complementary effect on the disease, not a complete remedy. It seems somebody tried to take advantage of the situation and gain money by selling their share at high prices.

On the other hand, some maintain that in the dictatorship society, there is not any way to demonstrate the corruptions of the governors. Because they force newspapers and news agencies to propagate the news that only supports their ideas. In this situation, scandals can help individuals to share their news about governors. So, they can freely spread their news via social media without fear of jail because it is difficult for the government to find out the origin of the news.

In conclusion, although scandals may have some benefits in special situations, I reckon it mostly has disadvantages like destroy the fame of celebrities or governors while the proposed information would not be right.