Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Due to the advancement of technology, the Internet and specifically social media, spreading scandals are rapidly increased. People use these websites or applications to share their news. Some claim these scandals and spreading in the society would be beneficial, while some believe it has several disadvantages for the society. I mostly agree with the latter one and I will explain my reasons.

First of all, most of scandals are proposed false information and these can destroy the face of celeberities, sportmen or officials. Thus, these people should waste their time and money to show the scandals are wrong whereas they could spend these time and money on better purposes. For example, George Cloney, one of the famous actor in the Hollywood, faced scandals that accused him sexual abuse of his colleague. He had to lay off his job for one year because no director wanted to work with him while before this scandal he always had some proposed jobs. He spent about a year for following it in the court and finally, the court result showed he was not guilty.

Moreover, the origin of the scandals are unknown. Any people could concoct a scandal and due to his power in social media, he could spread his scandal. Thus, some companies, organizations or even newspapers abuse of this ability and try to sell their products or guide public opinions. For example, in COVID-19 pandemic period, a scandal spreaded in Iran that Remesiders, a medicene, could remedy the disease completely. People started to buy stock of producers of this product in Iran. After about a week, The share of these companies increase twice and the news showed that it is just complementary effect on the disease not complete remedy. It seems somebody tried to take advantages of the situation and gain money by selling thier share on high prices.

On the other hand, some maintain that in the dictatorship society, there is not any way to demonstrate the currptions of the governers. Because they force newspapers and news agencies to propogate the news that only support their ideas. In this situation scandals can help individuals to share their news about governers. So, they can freely spread their news via social media without fear of jail because it is difficult for the goverment to find out the origin of the news.

In conclusion, although scandals may have some benefits in special situations, I reckon it mostly has disadvanteges like destroy the fame of celeberities or governers while the proposed inforamtion would not be right.