Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Scanals in our society, which are based on some malicious social, economic or political problems leading to huge public outrage and anger, are definitely useful in focussing the society’s attention. Take the example of 2G scam in India during the governance of UPA alliance let by Indian National Congress. This scnadal not only revealed the prevelant corruption at the top level government officials and politicians to the public but also unified all the political and social opposition fronts against this wrongdoing.

If we go into more details, scandals and scams which are indeed very devastating to the country and society, they brings down the reality to everyone’s attention in true sense. Every country tries to potrait an clean and impeccable image of their society to the citizens and the world. But, scandals help remove that gossamer layer of goodness. Recent events of Gangrape of a young girl in a bus running on the busy roads of New Delhi shows another face of the social evil in India. The girl was abducted from a busy market, and was raped for more than 3 hours in the bus. This incident, which led to a huge outrage among the youth regarding the security of girls and increase rate of crime in the national capital, it also drew attention on the pressing issue of ignorance and apathy so serious that no one tried to take victim lying naked on the road to hospital but just witnessed the whole scene waiting for police and ambulance.

Furthermore, scandals with active and neutral media have helped in past to bring socio-political evils to general public notice. 2G scandal conspired by none other than A. Raja, the communication minister of India was estimated to be about 1000 crores scam. Common Wealth Scam, where ministers played with the quality of the event and health of the atheletes for their own profit. Fodder Scam by Lalu Prasad Yadav, a well known figure in Indian Politics and ex Railway Minister. These scandals have exposed how deep rooted the corruption is in India, where not the just government officials but even the cabinet ministers are freely indulging in these corrupt practices.

Therefore, scandals like these help draw attention of the public to real and pressing issues. However, one needs to be careful of the superfluous scandals which are used to create media sensations and sway public’s sentiments in one’s favor. A recent example that comes to my mind is "Rakhi Sawant Kiss” Scandal which brought many women sympathizers and activists to streets. Incident as frivolous as this, could not have drawn more attention when the country and the government needed more focus on issues of poverty, unemployment, insecurity and corruption.

Consequently, it would be prudent to conclude that scandals and scams, as the history has witnessed, proves to be useful in focussing attention of the general mass on the real problems and serious evils prevelant in the society, which could have been very difficult for any reformer or leader to bring to notice. But, as useful as they are, fake scandals can be used as tool to sway public’s opinions and sentiments.