The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner.

"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The store owner by his argument, makes an attempt to relate the decrease in the business of the store owners in Central Plaza to the popularity of skateboarding. Not only this, he makes a very sharp conclusion that strict prohibition of the skateboarding in the plaza will definitely bring the business of the shopkeepers to previous high levels. But, I think his reasoning is rife with many assumptions and unanswered questions, which ought to be stated clearly and answered cogently to make an effective case.

Firstly, the question that comes to mind reading this argument is, how many shopkeepers with what nature of business are affected. There is a very big possibility that only certain kind of shopkeepers, for example shops selling floppy and CD drives or in other words products that have become obsolete with the advent new technologies, have seen decline in the business. And if that is the case, then the claim by author can easliy be proved a fallacy. So, in order to substantiate the argument, the author should answer these questions and provide valid and exact facts about the shopkeepers whose business got affected.

Additionally, there are several questions that has not been answered by the author. Over the period of two years, was there a significant change in the settlements of people around the plaza ? Did large number of people moved from nearby plaza to outskirts, which made them to stop coming to plaza ? Or, was there any other supermarket opened nearby which contributed to this phenomenon ? Author need to investigate, if any supermarket with better quality and variety of products opened nearby which could easitly sway majority of the fickle minded customers to the other store.

Furthermore, the author himself mentions that there has been a dramatic increase in litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. This in itself can prove to be a big reason for decline in the number of shoppers interested in coming to plaza for shopping. And, lack of hygenic atmosphere is completely unrelated to the use of skateboarding into the plaza, which in itself contradicts the argument made by the shop owner.

Moreover, the argument has completely failed to bridge the reasoning and claim. Author stated two different phenonmenon, one increase in skateboarding and second, decrease in business. But, there is no proof that cogently validate any relation between them. With increase in the teenager population nearby, there could have been increase in use of skates. But, how has it impacted the business ?

Answering these questions, in my opinion can make a persuasive argument to the authority. It is possible, that use of skateboard has made other age people apprehensive to walk along corridors and reduced the sales. Similarly, if author investigates more, tries to prove the unstated assumptions logically and answers the questions backed by reliable and valid facts, he can definitely make a solid claim. But, with this arugment, it is highly unlikely that authorities will agree to prohibit skateboarding.