Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.

Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The claim made by the statment pertinent to government attention and aid the major cities required in order to develop and thrive is totally agreeable. However, the reason for the claim sounds unwarrented. According to the author, cities are the primary source of a country’s cultural traditions and it is the place where they can be preserved.

Cities growth is certainly the foundation for the development of any nation. It is the cities of the country which represents it in the world, they are the face of the nation. For example - United States is recognized from the lifestyle of New York, WahingtonDC, India by New Delhi, Mumbai and so on. Major cities are the primary contributor to economical growth and are political hub for the nation. Nevertheless, accrediting cities as the primary source of cultural traditions is apocryphal.

Undoubtedly, there are developed countries like Germany, France whose major cities are primarily the source and symbol of country’s tradition and lifestyle. Still, the reason can not be generalized. There are developing countries like India, Nepal, Brazil, where rural areas and villages forms the integral part of the country’s culture. Infact, for a developing countries like India, where cities are more industrialized, are marked by mechanical lifestyle with jejune culture. It is rich rural lifestyle that characterizes it’s culture.

In addition, rural economy comprises a major percentage of such nation’s employment. Agriculture and Farming are contributes to about 50% to GDP and per capita income. The rural economy plays equally vital role in these nation’s growth. The primary and secondary occupations are essentially foundation for the teritary level, and therefore need financial support and attention from the government.

In conclusion, it is no brainer that goverment should ensure that cities get good financial support to thrive and burgeon economically, politically and socially to ensure country’s growth. At the same time, there are developing countries whose soul still exists in villages. Government, therefore should ensure that those areas play an equal and vital role in contributing to the cointry’s growth by continuous support and attention.