The following appeared as part of a letter to the editor of a scientific journal.

"A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The study discussed by the author tries to prove that an animal’s individual capacity to react to a stimulus is affected by its birth order. Author has given several experiments as the evidence to prove his claim, but I think his argument is rife with assumptions and loopholes that is hindering him to make a cogent case for himself. There are several plausible explanations which if proved true, can make the very basis of argument a fallacy.

As we all know, the endocrine and exocrine systems that control the release and quantity of harmones in our body, secretes them in a very small quantity, in the order of milli to micro grams. Therefore, it is required to have a very sophisticated and accurate technology to measure these harmones’ quantity. A small error in guaging this can lead to a fairly distint conclusion to the experiment. Given a very high chances of these errors in measurement, these results could sway in the very opposite direction with small changes in values. Hence, it would be prudent for author to give the experiment values and the error rates within which these values were measured. Given a very less error rates will be a effective proof to substantiate the argument.

Furthermore, the thesis talks about the various situations that acted as stimuli for the monkeys. Since, there are no further details about these situations, it is possible that these situations were not similar enough. They might have been triggered at different point on time of the day. For example, for any creature be it monkey, an encounter with any dangerous situation or sense of presence of an enemy might produce more amount of the cortisol harmone during day time when he is more energetic. While during night or very early morning, body demands more rest and lacks vigor and mobility and as a result it may find difficulty in producing the harmone in that quantity.

Moreover, another question that comes my to mind is, were these monkeys really kept in a restricted enviornment ? There is no proof of how the scientists ensured that the birth order they are assuming is correct. If mother monkey’s pregnancy was not the first one, then whole foundation of the claim will be falsified and hence the argument itself will be falsified. Also, there has been no relation made between the order of birth of infants and their father, male monkeys. It is possible for male monkeys and their age to affect the child’s metabolism and its capacity to react to the stimuli.

In addition, there has been a direct association made, from the results of the experiments on monkeys, with humans. In fact, humans are very different than monkeys in general. The organs and organs system that governs the metabolism for humans are much more advanced than that of their monkey ancesstors. So, making any conclusions on the birth order of human infants and their capacity to react to stimuli will be very naive, without giving any details evidences for it.

In conclusion, there are several unstated assumptions taken by the author’s argument, and some plausible explanation if proved to be true, would weaken the very foundation of the claims. Therefore, I would advise author to investigate and provide more evidences for plausible explantaions to the assumptions. Otherwise, it would be very difficult to persuade the editor of the journal to accpet the study and its validity.