Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Scandals can be a useful tool in focusing attention on problems in such a way that evoke a more emotional, a more opinionated, and a more informative response, involving a greater percentage of the public. The type of attention that a speaker or reformer can evoke for problems does not compare to the light shedding abilities of a good scandal.

Deny it if you want, but nobody can resist a juicy piece of gossip and scandals are the number one source for juicy gossip. The amount of attention that a scandal receives can shed more light on a problem than any reformer or speaker ever could. Scandals generally have more media coverage and public attention than any other topic, aside from terrorist attacks. This attention alone forces the subject on people that might not have been aware of the subject or problem under normal circumstances. The sheer amount of people that are now brought into awareness focuses the attention on this problem more than a reformer or speaker would have, whose audience would have only been those interested before the scandal.

Additionally, scandals tend to invite a more emotional and personal response than that of a speaker or reformer. While it may be true that reformers and speakers are capable of evoking an emotional and personal response at times, more people feel personally victimized in light of a scandal. This feeling of personal victimization inherently requires them to pay more attention to the problem at hand, begs them to form an opinion on the topic, and ultimately focuses the public attention on the problem in question more narrowly.

Moreover, the increased amount of coverage on a certain problem due to a scandal provides the public with more access to information regarding the problem. The amount of information that one would have received from a speaker or a reformer alone may have been edited in such a way to reflect their personal views, however, the information surrounding the scandal will be much more vast and available. The amount of readily accessible information alone is a tool that will shed more light on a problem. On the other hand, it is possible that those who were interested in the topic before the scandal may have had access to quality information solely from the speakers and reformers. It is true that there is often significant media coverage of speakers and reformers that would enable attentiont o be focused on a problem without the a scandal being present, but a scandal always seesm to permeate media coverage to more adequately focus the attention the public as a whole and not just those that sough the information out.

Scandals focus an enormous amount attention on problems that may, otherwise, have not garnered a lot of attention. The readily available access to information that floods the media during a scandal, the sheer amount of information available during a scandal, and the feelings of personal and emtional responses to a scandal are all factor that render scandal a useful tool in focusing attention on a problem in such a way that a reformer or speaker could simply do on their own.