School should do more to prepare students for the non-academic aspects of adulthood.

Schools hold immense responsibility for the development of future generation. Studies has shown that, a person’s childhood plays an important role throughtout his adult life. They truly believe in their childhood teachings and also it’s easy to believe at that age of innocence. This essay is in support of the issue, thus students should be prepared for adult life while in school using non-academic courses.

Discipline has always been a good part of schools since starting whether reaching schools on time or not missing any class are all parts of good discipline which we all learned in our schools days. In my school days, there were few cases of students coming late to classes or morning prayers. Instead of teaching them the benefits of discipline, they used to get punished in front of whole class, so these students never understood the real reason behind displine and how it can improve their adult life all together.

We can see differences in minds all around us in this world, sometimes what we read, we believe and keep on trusting the fact that whatever we were taught in our schools are always right. We trust the teachers and our parents, but in real adult world, this doesn’t stand true always. Our schools should prepare kids in more realistic way, they should be ready to accept differences in people’s views. They should taught how to respect and admire a person regardless of differences and teachings they have brought up with. For example; schools should teach about understanding of religion in brief so that kids respect all religions. They should be taught history of all religions regardless of the need to practice one. While most of the students finds interest in their academic subjects, few of them are always feel more enthusiastist about sports or simply debating. There is no doubt that over the last century schools are delivering better in the educational need of a human and getting even better by changing the techniques to educate the new generation.

Health is one of the biggest concerns for kids in United States. Studies has shown kids are getting obese due to their unhealthy choices of food. Generally we assume that parents are responsible for their kids food habits, in this area schools should do more about educating kids, how to choose healthy foods and why it’s important for their healthy adult life. Sports has always been part of school education, students learn a lot about sports and games in school. But there are student who do not participate in any game. Though we can not compel them to play but we can encourage them learn self-defense and other physical activities to be active throughout. I personally believe practicing Yoga will help students to be active and concentrated. Though there are many schools in India already doing it. Often we have heard about the cases where students feel themselves superior to others in many aspects, and they bully others kids around them, this is one of the biggest concerns of parents and schools too. In my opinion schools should ensure good supervision on things and also teach all of their students to learn good behaviours.

I conclude this essay agreeing with issue that schools should do more for students so that they can be prepared mentally and physically for their adult life.