Science is meaningless without religion.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Science is one of the most important field of the domain which has facilitated the livelihood of people around the world. There have been a wide range of applications in which science has played a significant role in making the lives of the people easier. Given the statement that Science is meaningless without religion is not completely true and needs an introspection. Connecting such a prominent field of application with religion is absurd.

Firstly, innovations have been developing over the years in the mankind to facilitate the lives of all the beings in the community. For example, Edison has made a tremendous discovery of finding the electricity, without which today's world would be nothing but vacuous. Though Edison might have followed some religion and revered a particular deity, it has no way in connection to his intelligence in finding out newer ways or perceiving the objects. This contradicts the given statement that Science is related to the religion.

Secondly, if we consider the pace in which today's innovations are being carried out, these are all not being conducted only by a particular set of community or religion, though there might be people from various sectors, backgrounds, origins, nationality, creed, religion etc. Consider the case of a rocket launch which has been carried out very recently from India. The crew of members who made it happen would be originating from various countries to make the launch successful. Thus it is not a valid statement to say that religion plays a role in developing of scientific discoveries.

Though the above two examples mentioned above display the fact that religion does not play a prominent role in the advancement of science, there are a very few evidences which prove that it is true. In the older ages, where there is lack of basic education to most of the people, education would be pursued by only a few sector of people who belong to a certain religion. At that times, if and only if there are intelligent people in such a sector of people, scientific discoveries would emerge. Nonetheless, given the fact that there are a mere amount of people who consider religion before science, which does not hold true completely in today's contemporary world.

Thus, in conclusion, though one might see that the religion would play some role in a particular field of study, when perceived the same statement in a broader sense, it looks very vague. Thus, one must stick to the fact that religion is not something which defines a person or a field of study, but it is the determination and talent which allows the revolutionaries around the world.