Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well-being of the societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make as much money as possible.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Environmental threats are part and parcel of human lives. Despite taking innumerable precautions to minimize the effects of the disaster, there will still be significant amount of loss of lives and property due to such catastrophes. Hence, it is the primary duty of the regulators and policy makers to anticipate the threats beforehand and prevent them by taking necessary measures.

To begin with, when meteorologists anticipate the occurrence of such natural disasters, the regulators and policymakers must take sufficient steps to curb the disastrous effects of such catastrophe. For instance, during the Tsunami in 2004, Chennai, although some slight omens were provided about the occurrence of a natural disaster, the indifference of the officials has lead to the loss of around 20.000 people due to the event. Had the officials taken sufficient measurement s to prevent such a loss, there would have been some minimal deaths. Hence, it is the duty of such officials to be vigilant about the consequences of any such disaster.

In addition, it is also the job of the policymakers to relocate the people to save their lives and property. Anticipating the sinister is only the first step in preventing the loss of the catastrophe. The officials must provide shelter and accommodation to the people who were brought to the safety houses. During the recent cyclone in Chennai, the government has taken sufficient measures to relocate the people from the places which are not immune to the disaster and hence saved the lives of hundreds of people. Proper food and basic amenities were provided to the people and hence even though the magnitude of the cyclone was humongous, there was a minimal loss to the life and property of the people. Hence, it is the duty of the officials to provide proper shelter to the people who were affected by the catastrophe.

In contrary, sometimes there might be some sudden environmental events which cannot be anticipated by the meteorological department beforehand. It is not all possible to predict the patterns of the weather all the time. During these cases, the officials usually respond after the occurrence of the disaster. Nonetheless, during these times, quick decisions must be taken by the officials to ebb the magnitude of the catastrophe. But, one must not condemn the officials for not anticipating the threat in the first place itself.

In conclusion, in most of the cases, it is the duty of the policymakers and regulations to the potential environmental threats beforehand and take necessary precautions to curb the magnitude of the disaster. Proper measures must be provided to the people who are relocated to safety houses. However, sometimes the occurrence of a disaster cannot be anticipated and one must not criticize the officials for not responding to the threats effectively, instead try to reduce the magnitude of damage.