Scientists and other researchers should focus their research on areas that are likely to benefit the greatest number of people.

Advancements in scientific knowledge has enabled people to prosper on earth and construct the society which we live today. It is of common interest of people wondering what future the science will lead us next, considering the change of everyday life of people the scientists have brought in the past. Also, it is debatable about which goal the scientists should pursue; whether scientists should always seek to help greater number of people or not.

Certainly, it seems plausible that scientists should focus on benefiting bigger number of people. Some of the scientific advancements that are commonly regarded as to have reshaped the human society, were the ones that involved benefiting the entirety of human race. For instance, if it was not Louis Pasteur, who first introduced the concept of viruses, proper treatment for many diseases might have not been developed. With Pasteur’s work, people who are infected with diseases that had been considered lethal before, can be treated properly in hospitals. This effort by Pasteur is a good example of which science focused in treating great number of people was a meaningful attempt. Accordingly, it seems that scientific advancements which benefits broad range of people is to a degree reasonable.

However, it does not mean that benefit of the majority should always be the priority in scientific research. While there are people who suffer from commonly known diseases, there are also an amount of people who suffer from rare diseases. Although it is plausible to treat people infected with popular contagious diseases, science should not leave out people who suffer from rare diseases. For instance, the World Health Organization, provides definition of “rare disease”, and attempts to identify them when newly reported. Although the depth of understanding of rare diseases might be shallow, without the effort to advance its knowledge people must suffer relentlessly. Thus, the value of scientific research that benefits few numbers of people must also be considered important.

Furthermore, researches scientists conduct to gratify their own interest can also be very significant. Many of the revolutionary findings were from scientists pursuing their own curiosity. For example, it is told that sir Isaac Newton discovered gravity to answer his own curiosity of what made an apple fall on his head. Eventually, his discovery later changed the people’s view of the world greatly and contributed to many of the scientific advancements. If Isaac Newton was forced to conduct research only to benefit the society, he might have been discouraged. Therefore, forcing scientists to narrow their focus on benefiting major group of people can hamper their new discoveries.

In summary, serving bigger number of people may be considered important in scientific research. However, it must not be the only purpose of scientific advancement as there are people in need of more specific help and can hamper innovation.