Society should make efforts to save endangered species only if the potential extinction of those species is the result of human activities.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

Many endangered species are facing extinction because of many factors among which human activities is one of the factor. We should make efforts to protect endangered species irrespective of whether they are caused only as a result of human activities.

For instance, consider the case of endangered species in the island uninhabited by humans. Some endangered species might be facing extinction as result of environmental changes like water pollution, global warming etc. Some endangered species might be facing extinction as a result of other species' activities. If there are many endangered species in that island, then it is better for us to protect them before they become extinct. Those endangered species should not be ignored as they are not facing extinction by human activities.

If efforts are made to protect only the species which are facing extinction because of human activities, then many species will extinct in the future. We might even lose those species which help mankind and nature in many ways. If many endangered species face extinction because of implementing this policy, then the species which prey on endangered species will also start facing extinction creating an extinction chain. If the extinction chain continues, then it will cause many difficulties for humans. Every species helps the nature in some way. The extinction of many species can create environmental changes making human survival difficult.

However, society can make efforts to save most of the endangered species which are facing extinction because of human activities because of the following reasons. The first reason is human activities can be controlled and is in the hands of humans unlike the natural calamities. The second reason is extinction caused by some unknown factors cannot be controlled by humans. The third reason is humans cannot control the species which are facing extinction because of other species like wild animals preying on domestic animals causing the extinction of deer.

Society should make efforts to save all endangered species though some of those species' extinction is not caused by human activities. If humans neglect many species as their extinction is not caused by humans, then it can lead to environmental degradation making everyone's survival difficult.