A recently issued twenty-year study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia investigated the possible therapeutic effect of consuming salicylates. Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches. Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, food-processing companies also add salicylates to foods as preservatives. The twenty-year study found a correlation between the rise in the commercial use of salicylates and a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by study participants. At the time when the study concluded, food-processing companies had just discovered that salicylates can also be used as flavor additives for foods, and, as a result, many companies plan to do so. Based on these study results, some health experts predict that residents of Mentia will suffer even fewer headaches in the future.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

It might seem logical, at a first glance, that the argument made by the author is true: residents of Mentia will suffer even fewer headaches in the future based on the recently issued twenty year-study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia. However, in order to fully evaluate the argument, few questions need to be answered. The answers to these questions helps in deciding whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable.

Firstly, Can the correlation between the rise in the commercial use of salicylates and a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by study participants provide strong support for the argument. The author has to provide the evidence that the steady decline in the average number of headaches is mostly due to the use of salicylates and not due to any other factors. The author has to show that study participants use salicylates and not any other medicine to treat their headaches. If the author answers the first question, then it helps in strengthening the argument.

Secondly, Is the twenty-year study fully representative of people who mostly suffer headaches, valid and reliable. If the people who participated in the study use some other medicine to treat their headache or if they do not use salicylates at all to treat their headaches, then it would weaken the argument. The study has to reveal how much rise has been observed in the use of salicylates and how much decline has been observed in the average number of headaches. If there is only 5% rise in the use of salicylates and 3% decline in the average number of headaches, then it will weaken the argument. The author has to answer the above questions in order to support the argument.

Thirdly, the author must tell if many companies will definitely use salicylates as flavor additives for food because the author said that many companies planned to do so but it is still not implemented. The author must also tell how much quantity of salicylates will be used by food-processing companies because the author did not mention how much quantity of salicylates must be consumed by people to reduce their headache. The answer to these above questions helps in providing support to the argument.

The author has to answer the above questions in order to evaluate the prediction that the residents of Mentia will suffer even fewer headaches in the future.